Mount Prospect’s Centennial Commission was honored at last week’s village board meeting.

Jean Murphy, who co-chaired the village’s 100-year celebration with former Trustee Leo Floros, outlined the commission’s extensive activities. Both received a standing ovation from those in the audience.

The group’s efforts began in 2013. Among the highlights were unearthing a 75-year-old time capsule, holding a fire hydrant painting contest, and recreating the signing of the village’s papers of incorporation on the day of the anniversary in the restored Central Schoolhouse, followed by fireworks.

Murphy said more than $105,000 was raised from approximately 75 businesses, clubs and individuals, and from sales of anniversary merchandise and fire hydrant painting fees.

Murphy said the commission ended the year with a balance of more than $2,000 in its coffers, which will go to the Mount Prospect Historical Society.

Murphy lauded her fellow commission members: Sharon Anderson, Alex Bertolucci, former Mayor Skip Farley, Janice Farley Dale Henricksen, Linda Hoefert, Patrick Mogge, former village Trustee Michaele Skowron, Christy Watychowicz and John Zulaski, as well as Mayor Arlene Juracek and webmaster Lindsay Rice.

In addition, Murphy announced that Dana Bundesen Carr had won the commission’s website contest by identifying architectural detail photos taken throughout the village.

Juracek presented Frank Corry, chairman of the historical society board, with a book published in 1917, the year of the village’s incorporation. She said she found the copy of "The Common School Songbook" in Savannah, Illinois.

Source Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *